Left/back arrow
Right/next arrow

December 05, 2012

Drop Caps Series

Celia Sin-Tien Cheng

The new Penguin Drop Caps series is an inventive and vibrant way to rekindle our love for classic titles including Charlotte Brontë’s “Jane Eyre” and Charles Dickens’ “Great Expectations.” The hard cover of each book features an illustrated letter of the alphabet by type designer Jessica Hische in collaboration with Penguin art director Paul Buckley. I love the idea of revisiting classic novels, and the beautifully designed drop cap jackets make them even more enticing. They say never judge a book by its cover, but the reality is that eye-catching covers will attract attention, and these will definitely stand out on your bookshelf. The first six of the series have just debuted, with A for Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice,” B for Charlotte Brontë’s “Jane Eyre,” C for Willa Cather’s “My Ántonia,” D for Charles Dickens’ “Great Expectations,” E for George Eliot’s “Middlemarch” and F for Gustave Flaubert’s “Madame Bovary.” Which letter suits your fancy?